HOSA Chases Success at State Leadership Conference”  by iPatriotPost

“HOSA Chases Success at State Leadership Conference”
by iPatriotPost 2023 staffers Anya Pinto and Lauren Wong

Hosa Chases Success at State Leadership Conference”  by iPatriotPost

The HOSA team from both campuses traveled to Orlando to attend the Florida HOSA State Leadership Conference 2023 for Future Healthcare Professionals (HOSA).

Over 160 students from Heritage attended, competing in a variety of categories ranging from written tests and medical procedures to team events and performance categories. Each competitor vied for a spot in the top three in order to win the chance to compete at the International Leadership Conference (ILC) in June.

Hosa Chases Success at State Leadership Conference”  by iPatriotPost

Over 80 students earned the Barbara James Award for their outstanding contributions to the medical field through community service. The Broward (Sunrise) region raised the most money for the Be the Match Foundation. At the Grand Awards Session, American Heritage had over 30 state winners who placed in their various competitive events and qualified for the International Leadership Conference.

Hosa Chases Success at State Leadership Conference”  by iPatriotPost
HOSA State Leadership Conference (SLC) Winners:
Cultural Diversities & Disparities
1st - Isabel Duffy 
4th - Ashley Bax 
Dental Terminology 
2nd - Srihith Nooka
3rd - Dishika Parikh 
Health Informatics
1st - Sahir Hai 
Medical Math
4th - Marcos Marrero 
Medical Reading
4th - Yana Danzig 
Medical Spelling
3rd - Julianna Smith-Flores
Medical Terminology 
3rd - Aishwarya Deshpande
2nd - Erin Zhou 
Clinical Laboratory Science 
1st - Calvin Mathew 
2nd - Shrika Kantipudi 
4th - Amara Okpala 
Dental Science 
3rd - Rachel Kludy 
Family Medicine Physician
4th - Anaïs Dufresne Powell 
Home Health Aide
4th - Alice Gabrielle Etienne 
Pharmacy Science 
2nd - Ikemy Okpala 
3rd - Gabriel Restrepo 
Sports Medicine
2nd - Benjamin Callaghan 
Veterinary Science  
1st - Lexa McDermott 
4th - Daniel Lopez 
CERT Skills
1st - Patricia Duffy & Naomi Tamura 
CPR/First Aid 
3rd - Lilly Nguyen & Sofia Franklin 
Emergency Medical Technician
1st - Bradley Frishman & Branden Frishman
2nd - Nesibe Kalb Karakaya & Daria Sumenkova 
4th - Alessandra Tiongson & Sophia Zou 
5th Trace Binder and Kobe Tako 
Public Health
5th - Mia Rosen, Laila Rozenberg, and Audrey Dueñas 
Health Career Photography 
5th - Casey Cross 
Healthy Lifestyle
2nd - Emir Sahin 
Prepared Speaking 
1st - Esther Oyetunji 
Researched Persuasive Writing & Speaking 
4th - Anya Pinto 
Research Poster
4th - Melodi Fugate 
Biomedical Debate
5th - Aurora Lai, Sophia Toledo, and Sophia Abati 
Forensic Science 
3rd - Jason Cheng & Amy Liu 
HOSA Bowl 
1st - Iris Fan, Carla del Rio, Lauren Wong, and Joshua Turner 
4th - Carly Aikens, Surina Gadh, Cate Zeiger, and Asher Lee 
Medical Innovation
3rd - Ananya Zaverchand& Aarna Baranwal 
Foundation of Medical Terminology-Middle school
Ishani Nara _5th Place
Barbara James Service Award Gold Level 
Sophia Abati
Nour Abdullah 
Alejandra Abramson
Carly Aikens 
Aaden Albury 
Benjamin Callaghan 
Zijian Fang 
Sharon Fernandez 
Surina Gadh 
Christopher Gaski 
Anagha Iyer 
Shrika Kantipudi 
Rachel Kludy 
 Anthony (Ian) Lai 
Aurora Lai 
Savanah Lares 
Asher Lee 
Alana Lodin 
Daniel Lopez 
Mia Lopez 
Rithvik Marri 
Calvin Mathew 
Kangana Modi 
Srihith Nooka 
Malcolm Owusu 
Rolando Perez 
Likhitha Selvan 
Sofia Toledo 
Joshua Turner
Lauren Wong 
Dishika Parikh 
Sarrinah Saif 
Sruthi Balasubramanian 
Barbara James Service Award Silver Level 
Jaimee Canalejo 
Iris Fan 
Kamilat Mustapha 
Amara Okpala 
Esther Oyetunji
 Susana Regueria
Sebastian Temprano 
Mariana Wotfe 
Cate Zeiger 
Barbara James Service Award Bronze Level 
Patricia Duffy 
Bhuvan Dave 
Ashwin Dhar 
Deeya Amin 
Tara Muthuswamy 
Jasmine Nguyen 
Lilly Nguyen 
Ikemdy Okpala 
Gabriela Passaro 
Jeeya Patel
Nirja Patel 
Emir Sahin 
Kobe Tako
Pin and T-shirt Design 
Alana Lodin 
Centum Chapters
100 Chapter Members- American Heritage School 
Penny Wars 1st Place - Sunrise (Broward Region) $639.31